Works from Sympho's ARCO – orchestra, 20'

Aggression 1
Aggression 2
  • | | timp.2perc | pno | str
  • commissioned by Park Avenue Armory for the Tune-In Music Festival, 2011
  • premiered on 2/11/11 by SymphoNYC, Paul Haas (cond.), New York Polyphony, with sound design by Paul Fowler and Bora Yoon
These are excerpts and edits from Sympho's site-specific concert, ARCO, commissioned by the Park Avenue Armory (NY) to open the Tune-in Music Festival of 2011. ARCO is a modern creation myth that speaks of the human condition; it is at once a musical exploration of an architectural icon and a sonic voyage through time and space. The music is a journey in the landscape of the human soul, where we witness the soul’s evolution in the place where the struggle toward divinity and grace finds its battleground.

"Building" employs the second movement of Beethoven’s 7th Symphony as both a point of departure and a guide. Using rigorous musical forms – imitation, canon, fugue and passacaglia – the music witnesses humankind as she forms a singular identity, her perspective and world. As she reaches completion humankind turns to covetousness and militantly protects that which she has created, thus "Aggression." Listen for the "ghosts" of the Armory: samples of past works performed in the space, battling for prominence amongst the previous material. "Aggression 2" is the turning point of the concert during which the violence of war moves towards complete annihilation.

PF’s pieces from ARCO
the entire ARCO concert
Three orchestral works borrowing from Beethoven’s second movement of Symphony #7, telling a modern creation myth of humankind – the desire to build order and structure, and then protect that creation through any means.